8 Utah schools earn STEM designation

amcelweeMaking the Grade: Utah works to improve its marks in STEM education Utah Business May 8, 2018News

The STEM Action Center awarded eight Utah public schools with the STEM School Designation during the STEM Best Practices Conference on Tuesday in Provo.

The STEM Schools Designation defines criteria to help Utah schools create comprehensive science, technology, engineering and math learning environments for their students.

 Foothill Elementary in Orem earned the highest award, the Platinum STEM School Designation, and Westridge Elementary in Provo was awarded the Gold STEM School Designation. The six other schools that earned similar recognitions were Endeavour Elementary in the Davis School District, New Bridge Elementary in the Ogden School District, Creekview Elementary in the Carbon School District, Willow Elementary in the Tooele County School District, George Washington Academy in St. George and the Utah Virtual Academy.

The STEM Best Practices Conference brought together leaders in K-12 education, higher education and industry to network and learn from experts in science, technology, engineering and math. Highlights include tours of the Utah STEM Bus and workshops on programming robots and exploring STEM through sound and dance.

Read more here.