Skip to content
Photo of Tami Goetz

Tami Goetz

Executive Director

Tami Goetz served as the Director of the Salt Lake Community College (SLCC) Biotechnology Program for six years and helped to create the 2-year Biotechnology and Biomanufacturing Program at SLCC, the 4-year Biotechnology Program at UVU and a one-year high school Biotechnology Program for juniors and seniors that is offered at numerous high schools across the state. Goetz has led the creation of innovative education programs that are nationally recognized such as the non-profit contract research organization InnovaBio and the training life science business incubator, BioInnovations Gateway.

Dr. Goetz was appointed by Governor Olene Walker to serve on the Governor’s State Advisory Council for Science and Technology in 2005. She was appointed by Governor Jon M. Huntsman, Jr. to serve as State Science Advisor in August of 2007. During her tenure as the State Science Advisor, she was the lead on Utah’s U.S. Department of Labor Workforce Innovation in Regional Economic Development (WIRED) Initiative that promoted education and training for life sciences in Utah. Goetz helped to launch the State’s first Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) education and workforce initiative, which resulted in the creation of the STEM Action Center. As State Science Advisor, Dr. Goetz served also as the Director for the Utah Life Science Economic Development Cluster for the Governor’s Office of Economic Development.

In 2012 she accepted a position at Utah Valley University in the College of Science and Health as Assistant Dean for External Relations. She is taking a leave of absence to serve as the Executive Director for the Utah STEM Action Center.

Dr. Goetz was recognized as “40 Under 40 Rising Stars” in 2004 and “30 Women to Watch” in 2007 by Utah Business magazine. She also received the Award of Merit by the National Association for Career and Technical Education for her work to support secondary science and math education programs. Tami received the 2008 Women Technology Council’s “Community Builder” award and was the recipient of the 2013 Governor’s Medal for Science and Technology.